Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

West Linn's Braden Olsen, Khalid Thomas and Keishon Dawkins named to all-TRL first team

Nolan Bertain and Rodney Hounshell are also honored following 2017 campaign

TIDINGS PHOTO: MILES VANCE - West Linn senior guard Braden Olsen (here against Clackamas in the 2017 Class 6A state tournament) was named to the all-Three Rivers League first team after leading the Lions to a TRL title and the state in assists.To the victors go the spoils.

And no team was better represented on the 2017 Three Rivers League boys basketball all-star teams than TRL champion West Linn.

The Lions, who went a perfect 14-0 to win this year's Three Rivers League crown — they also carry a 34-game TRL winning streak — saw all five of their starters honored on all-TRL teams, three of those on the 2017 first team.

This year's first-team selections from West Linn included: senior guard Braden Olsen (13.86 points per game on 55 percent shooting from the floor, along with 7.8 assists, 3.2 rebounds and 3 steals per game); senior wing Khalid Thomas (16.35 points per game on 58 percent shooting, along with 7.9 rebounds and 3.05 steals per game); and junior post Keishon Dawkins (14.91 points per game on 67 percent shooting, along with 6.9 rebounds and 1.7 steals per game).

Also honored from West Linn were: senior guard Nolan Bertain (12.57 points and 3.9 rebounds), second team; and senior guard Rodney Hounshell (8.65 points, 2.1 rebounds, 2.3 steals), honorable mention.

Tualatin junior Alexis Angeles was named Player of the Year, West Linn senior Khalid Thomas was honored as Defensive Player of the Year, and Tigard's Shawn Alderman was named TRL Coach of the Year.

Three Rivers League

First Team — Alexis Angeles, Jr., Tualatin; Stevie Schlabach, So., Tigard; Braden Olsen, Sr., West Linn; Khalid Thomas, Sr., West Linn; Immanuel Allen, Jr., Lakeridge; Keishon Dawkins, Jr., West Linn.

Second Team — Austin Dufort, Jr., Tigard; Nolan Bertain, Sr., West Linn; Daniel Baumer, Sr., Lake Oswego; Luka Nixon, Sr., Sherwood; Shawn Elliott, Jr., Lake Oswego; Cole Mehaffey, Sr., Lake Oswego.

Honorable Mention — Wade Brewer, Jr., Canby; Dylan Taylor, Sr., Canby; Aundree Polk, Sr., Lakeridge; Nate Ninteman, Sr., Lakeridge; Josh Angle, So., Lake Oswego; John Sandilands, Sr., Sherwood; Luke Smith, Sr., Tigard; Daniel Jones, Sr., Tigard; Donovan Tafua, Sr., Tualatin; Hayden Deuna, Sr., Tualatin; Rodney Hounshell, Sr., West Linn.

Player of the Year: Alexis Angeles, Tualatin

Defensive Player of the Year: Khalid Thomas, West Linn

Coach of the Year: Shawn Alderman, Tigard

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..