Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

Woodburn Fire District awards firefighters at annual banquet

by: WOODBURN FIRE DISTRICT - (From left) Chief Paul Iverson awards Bill Nightingale, Gary Patterson, Brandon Madura and Miranda Carroll for five years of service.by: WOODBURN FIRE DISTRICT - Ulrich Reich receives the Chief's Award for Community Service from Chief Paul Iverson.The Woodburn Fire District gave out multiple awards at its annual awards banquet Feb. 1. Chief Paul Iverson handed out the awards, including a special one this year, called the Chief’s Award for Community Service. That was awarded to Ulrich Reich for 2013. The 2013 Firefighter of the Year is James Audritsh and the 2013 Career Firefighter of the Year is Jeremy Peil (neither were present). The 2013 Student Firefighter of the Year is Joshua DeBoer. Iverson also awarded service pins, which are in increments of five years, to members on their anniversaries. The five-year service pins were awarded to Bill Nightingale, Gary Patterson, Brandon Madura and Miranda Carroll. A 10-year service pin was awarded to Juan Armenta. Raymond Fahey was awarded the 40-year service pin. Others recognized for years of service include Carlton Gianella and Warde Hershberger, who have each served a total of 51 years with the fire district.


Local Weather

Partly Cloudy



Partly Cloudy

Humidity: 97%

Wind: 0 mph

  • 10 Feb 2016

    Cloudy 59°F 47°F

  • 11 Feb 2016

    PM Showers 58°F 50°F