Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

Firefighters recognized for service above and beyond


-  District honors exemplary team members at annual banquet

During its annual banquet Saturday, Jan. 11, the Sandy Fire District announced its 2013 award recipients.

Last year, the fire district responded to 1,826 alarms and provided a combined 34,322 hours of service to the community.

Nannette Howland, a paid staff member at the Sandy Fire District, said the team is successful because of exemplary character, work ethic and commitment to service.

The district presented the Probationary Firefighter of the Year award to volunteer firefighter Shawn Curtis, who responded to 332 alarms. by: COURTESY PHOTO: SANDY FIRE DISTRICT - Firefighter Shawn Curtis, left, receives his award from Capt. Jason McKinnon.

Firefighter of the Year went to Doug Dietrich, who responded to 447 alarms. Dietrich spent more than 2,200 hours providing service to the community in 2013.

“In a team, there are always individuals who stand out as examples of what the organization is most proud of,” Howland said. “It is individuals such as these who challenge us to meet them at the top.”

Christian Fritz, 499 alarms; Glenn Yeager, 490 alarms; Doug Dietrich, 477 alarms; Brandon Tidd, 471 alarms; and James McCamman, 424 alarms, were recognized as the top five responders for 2013.

Sandy Fire District staff members also recognized individuals they felt represent the core values of the district.

The PRIDE Awards (professionalism, responsibility, integrity, dedication and education) went to Lt. Ron Schneider, bookkeeper Ann Rogers, firefighter Doug Dietrich, firefighter Glenn Yeager and firefighter Nathan Kessler.

Dr. Mike Murray, who has been the district’s supervising physician adviser for more than 20 years, was recognized by the Board of Directors for his work in giving back to the organization.

The Sandy Fire District also used the banquet to swear in the newest volunteer firefighters who have completed a year of probationary training.

Those sworn in were Michael Baker, Alan Bowen, Shawn Curtis, Vince Hollingsworth, Nathan Kessler, Karl Lange, Josh Lawson, John O’Connor, Dallas Olsen, Bradley Topliff and Josh Young.

Finally, firefighters at the banquet also congratulated their peers for their time at the district.

Firefighter Mat Rios and Capt. Jason McKinnon have given five years of service; board member Len Tobias, 20 years of service; firefighter Russ Ridgeway and Deputy Chief Phil Schneider, 35 years of service; and Battalion Chief Pat Beckman, 40 years of service.