Featured Stories

Other Pamplin Media Group sites

Wrestling: Tribe takes second in La Grande


Scappoose gets three first-place finishers en route to a second-place finish overall at the Muilenburg tournament in La Grande.

It was a solid first weekend for Scappoose wrestling, who made the trip to La Grande for the Muilenburg tournament and walked away with a second-place finish with 282.5 points. The Indians finished behind host La Grande, who won the tournament for the first time in school history with 301.5 points.


Sophomore Braxton Sue got first round pins over both of his opponents in the first two matches of the 126 division tournament. He then got an 8-2 decision in the quarterfinal and a 7-4 technical fall in the semifinal before losing the 5-0 decision to La Grande's Cole Rohnan in the 106 division final.


Junior Alex Foumal took second place in the 126 division, losing the 13-1 major decision to Riverside's Hans Rockwell in the final after pinning his opponent in the second round of the semifinal match. Foumal squeaked out wins early on, winning by 4-2 and 7-3 in the second and quarterfinal rounds respectively.


Taylor Walden blew through his first several opponents, getting the 9-1 Major Decision on Jose Olivia in the first round and 8-1 over Clay Miller in the second before coming up against Seth DeViney in the semifinals in the 132 division. DeViney had pinned his last two opponents, and gave Walden a run for his money before losing the 2-1 decision. Walden got a 5-3 decision over La Grande's Jared Neiss for the division title.


Senior Hunter Hoyt took the 152 division by pinning Bryson Shira in the second round and getting a 13-3 Major Decision on Joseph Knight in the third, setting up a close 3-2 match with La Grande's Nic Kavanaugh for a berth in the title match. Hoyt pulled the wool over TJ Handcock in the final, setting aside his opponent's previously clean record (two wins by fall, 12-0 in the quarter and semifinals) in the tournament with a 13-4 MD for the championship.


Wrestling in the 182 division for the first time, junior Johnathon Tardif won by fall in his first three matches before losing the 18-1 major decision to Seth Nonnenmach in the semifinals. Tardif was the only wrestler to not get pinned by Nonnenmach, and went on to win by major decision against both of his opponents to take third place in the 182 division.


Isaiah Goodrich was perfect on his way to the 195 title, pinning his first two opponents just 30 and 33 seconds in to the first round, and getting 3-0 and 8-0 decisions before pinning Sage Delong in the third round of the 195 division final.

Senior Devin Ray took fourth place in the heavyweight division, losing a 4-0 decision in the third-place match on Saturday. Zach Gadbois (138) and older brother Ben Gadbois (160) both took the consolation championship in their divisions, as did senior Tyson Broadbent (195).

Team scores: La Grande 301.5, Scappoose 282.5, Weiser 241, Caldwell 237.5, Vale 199, Pendleton 184, Sam Barlow 147.5, Enterprise 126.5, Riverside 123.5, Nyssa 120